New Governing Board nominates Chair and Vice Chair at their first virtual meeting

  • May 12, 2020

IATI’s new Governing Board met for the first time on 5-6 May, holding a virtual session over two days. The Board’s seven representatives took their seats in April to serve a two year term (2020-2022). Of the seven seats, three have been re-elected from the previous Board (The Netherlands, UNICEF and Oxfam Novib) and four others have joined for the first time (Nepal, Nigeria, Association of Freelance Journalists and Sida). Sida, represented by Melinda Cuzner, now holds the technically-focused seat.

At the meeting, Board members nominated Theo van de Sande from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, The Netherlands as Chair for a second term, and Dr. Sanjo Faniran (with Henry Asor Nkang as Alternate) from the Ministry of Finance, Nigeria as Vice Chair. View all Board representatives including their short biographies in the Governance section of IATI’s website.

The Board worked through some practical exercises with an external facilitator to establish and agree guiding principles for their work during the two-year term, setting out clear expectations for themselves and the Secretariat in implementing the Strategic Plan (2020-2025) EN, ES, FR.

Full minutes of this meeting will be shared through the May update by the Chair and posted on the Governing Board meeting minutes page of the IATI website.